User Controls

Communication: how to win verbal fights and get what you're owed

oatking Yung Blood
    Original title: Communication skills are important

I'm a bit drunk, but hopefully it will only add to the magnificence of this piece. I want to tell you guys about how fucking important it is to be able to argue your point. Most people can't do it and fuck up negotiating a salary, getting promoted, or get swindled by a store/credit card company/online seller, etc.

Now, I'm no expert at this. I'm not a lawyer or a radio talk show host. I can't think up and fire off "negs" like someone from the projects. But this shit will happen to you, especially if you fall into both of these categories:

1. socially retarded
    2. high skilled labor

I think it's because the first one is seen as a weakness and the second one is just too tempting to pass up for a greedy MBA fuckwit. So you gotta know how to guard against this. Here's a story, that I've mangled a bit to make it more anonymous.

I was doing work for a client, let's call him Al. It was a short project, about 6 weeks of part time work worth roughly 12k (pre tax :(). We got it done, shook hands, and parted. Al handed the finished project to a junior manager, Liz. Now, Liz thought that the project was missing a bunch of stuff but couldn't get any budget to hire someone to add this stuff. Here decision? She contacted me and right off the bat told me that <list of missing stuff> was in the scope of the project and unless I finish this by <deadline one week away>, they're taking me to court.

I was so pissed that my hands were shaking, so I waited for about 4 hours to cool down. I then requested a detailed <list of missing stuff> and she got that back to me along with a threat of needing my decision by some ridiculous hour like 8am. I thanked her.

Next, I proceeded to collect every piece communication between me and Al and me and Liz. I collected everything into text files or screenshots and I had this handy.