User Controls

The Yerkes–Dodson law

gadzooks Dark Matter [keratinize my mild-tasting blossoming]
    So, in the interest of trying to boost my productivity, I decided to take a bunch of illicit crystal methamphetamines this morning.

This may sound counter-intuitive, but my ultimate goal, was to find just the right balance of neurotransmitters to enable focused cognitive processing.

You see, my academic background is in psychology. I have a bachelor's degree in the subject, and I volunteered in a lab, and started an honors thesis, etc. All of this was focused around cognition.

Now, I am a (self-taught) software developer.

I want to apply what I learned about cognition to being a more productive software developer.

So I am making this thread to document some of my findings thus far.

I have experimented with many different nootropics (noopepts, racetams, stimulants, eugeroics (such as modafinil), as well as microdosing hallucinogens to enhance creativity).

I plan to also try rTMS (Repetetive Trans-Cranial Stimulation) and/or tDCS (Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation) soon. I bought a tDCS device recently and am building myself up to using it.

I also use various behavioral techniques to enhance focus, such as implementing Kanban (a task management methodology common in software development), and timeboxing / using the Pomodoro technique (where you set aside a precise amount of time to work on a task, and then when that timer runs out, you stop).

Basically, I plan on trying everything that I can to improve my overall productivity.

The title of this thread is named as such because it refers to the phenomenon wherein you achieve that perfect balance between emotional arousal and performance.

There will be more to come, but I wanted to get everybody ready for some truly mind-expanding experiments that I will be performing.

Stay tuned.

Or don't.